Saturday, December 20, 2014

Follow us:
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Subscribe to this news feed 


Mike Davis named to Biletnikoff watch list

  • Text size: + -
TWC News: Mike Davis named to Biletnikoff watch list
Play now

Time Warner Cable video customers:
Sign in with your TWC ID to access our video clips.

  To view our videos, you need to
enable JavaScript. Learn how.
install Adobe Flash 9 or above. Install now.

Then come back here and refresh the page.

Texas Longhorns junior wide receiver Mike Davis has been named to the watch list for the 2012 Biletnikoff Award, honoring the nation’s outstanding wide receiver, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club has announced.

The award is named for Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame who was an All-Pro receiver with the Oakland Raiders and an All-America receiver at Florida State University. Biletnikoff was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.

Davis is a third-year wide receiver who has seen action in 24 games, including 16 starts and has posted 92 receptions for 1,087 yards (11.8 ypr) with three TDs and three 100-yard receiving games for his career. Davis played in 13 games with 11 starts at wide receiver in 2011 and led the team with 45 receptions for 609 yards and one touchdown. In 2010, he posted a UT freshman single-season record 47 receptions for 478 yards (No. 3 on UT freshman single-season list) and two TDs. He is one of only three players in school history to register multiple 100-yard receiving games as a freshman.

Davis was a prep All-American, two-time all-state, two-time first-team all-area and all-district performer at wide receiver and an EA SPORTS All-American second-team selection. He played in the 2010 Under Armour All-America Game, finishing as the game's leading receiver with three catches for 53 yards and a TD. Davis is a member of UT's Athletics Director's Honor Roll (Fall 2010).

Davis was previously selected to the 2011 Biletnikoff Award watch list. Former Longhorn Jordan Shipley was the first Longhorn to be named a finalist for the award in 2009, and Quan Cosby was a semifinalist in 2008.

The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of over 180 prominent football journalists, commentators, and receivers. The 2012 winner will be presented live on December 6, 2012, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast from 7:30 - 9:30pm on ESPN.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. will announce the ten Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on November 12, 2012,following the vote by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on November 19, 2012. For complete details and updates of interest, together with weekly statistics and news of the Biletnikoff Award candidates, please consult the Foundation website at ClientIP:, UserAgent: CCBot/2.0 ( Profile: TWCSAMLSP